Piwik

Saving for your retirement

A retirement savings plan, which you can take out through your job or individually, is a way to add on to your compulsory basic and supplementary retirement pensions. Retirement savings plans come with tax and contribution incentives.

There are many different types of retirement savings plans.

You can open an individual Popular retirement savings plan (PERP) by signing onto an insurance contract that was concluded between an organization providing oversight, the Popular retirement savings group (Groupement d’épargne retraite populaire/ GERP), and an organization providing management, which can be an insurance company, a providence fund, or a mutual fund.

PERP contributions are deductible from your taxable income up to a maximum amount of 10%.

You are free to set your own contribution rate. Once you have stopped working, you will begin to receive an annuity, which is the only exit option.

                For more information on PERP, please refer to the French government’s website (in French)

The Company retirement savings plan (PERE)

This is a compulsory group contract better known as the “Article 83 plan,” which is a reference to the French tax code.

These plans are managed by insurance companies, providence funds, or mutual funds. Based on an employer’s unilateral decision, a collective decision by the employees, or a collective agreement, membership is compulsory, as are payments at a rate that was set when the plan was created. Employers usually help to fund these plans.

As long as they comply with the security and transparency rules that apply to the PERP, the same tax incentives apply to voluntary contributions into these schemes. Optional contributions or one-time payments into these company retirement savings plans are income tax deductible under the same rules as for the PERP.

As with the PERP, the only exit option is an annuity once you have reached retirement age, except under special circumstances.

 

The collective retirement savings plan (Plan d’épargne pour la retraite collectif/ PERCO).

This is a collective savings plan for company employees. Membership is compulsory if an agreement has been signed. Unlike the PERE, employees are free to choose their payment rates. As with the PERE, payments are matched by the employer and the funds are invested in a pooled management scheme generally involving banks, insurance companies, or French pensions and savings organizations.

There are tax incentives for both the company and the employee. Exit options are either a lifelong annuity or a one-time payment. In this aspect, PERCO more closely resembles a standard investment than a retirement savings plan. Small companies that are unable to set up their own PERCO can join a multi-company PERCO created by a sector-specific agreement that allows management and risks to be shared.

                For more information on the PERCO, please refer to the website service-public.fr (in French)

“Madelin Law” contracts are available to all self-employed and private-practice professionals: directors with a majority share, artisans and craftsmen, private-practice professionals, and contributing spouses (“conjoints collaborateurs.”).

To be eligible, your contributions to the compulsory health insurance and pension schemes must be up-to-date. Contributions are deductible from your earned income and you are free to determine your contribution rate within a given upper and lower limit.

Your contract can be terminated if you stop working due to court-ordered liquidation or due to disability.

Once you have stopped working, the only exit option is an annuity, unless you are receiving a disability pension.

The Préfon plan is only available to civil servants, their spouses, and anyone who has been a civil servant during his/her career.

The applicable tax rules are the same as for the PERP.

                               For more information, please refer to Préfon-retraite’s website (in French)

For personalized information based on your pension schemes, please log into your pension account.

You can also use this account to :

  • access your career history
  • and estimate your pension entitlements

Ces articles peuvent vous intéresser

En poursuivant votre naviguation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour vous proposer des contenus adaptés à votre profil.  En savoir plus

Piwik

Je veux me constituer un complément de retraite

L’épargne retraite, organisée dans un cadre collectif ou individuel, permet de compléter sa retraite de base et complémentaire obligatoire. Des mesures fiscales et sociales encouragent son développement.

L’épargne retraite recouvre des mécanismes très différents.

Le Plan d’épargne retraite populaire (PERP) est souscrit par adhésion individuelle à un contrat d’assurance conclu entre une association chargée de la surveillance du PERP, le Groupement d’épargne retraite  populaire (GERP), et un organisme gestionnaire qui peut être une entreprise d’assurance, une institution de prévoyance ou une mutuelle.

Il permet de se constituer un complément de retraite grâce à des cotisations déductibles du revenu imposable, jusqu’à hauteur de 10% de ce revenu.

Le montant des cotisations est décidé librement par l’assuré. Après cessation de l’activité professionnelle, la sortie se fait obligatoirement sous forme de rente.

Pour en savoir plus sur le PERP, consultez le site service-public.fr

Le Plan d’épargne retraite entreprise (PERE)

Il s’agit d’un contrat de groupe à adhésion obligatoire, plus connu sous le nom de « régime de l’article 83 » en référence au Code général des impôts.

La gestion de ces régimes est confiée à des entreprises d’assurance, des  institutions de prévoyance ou des mutuelles. Du fait d’une décision unilatérale de l’employeur, d’une décision collective des salariés, d’un accord ou d’une convention collective, l’adhésion y est obligatoire ainsi que les versements, à un taux de cotisation fixé lors de la création du régime. L’employeur contribue le plus souvent au financement de ces régimes.

Dès lors qu’ils adoptent les règles de sécurité et de transparence du PERP, les versements volontaires à ces régimes bénéficient des mêmes avantages fiscaux. Les cotisations ou primes versées à titre facultatif à ces plans de retraite d’entreprise sont déductibles de l’impôt sur le revenu dans les mêmes conditions que pour le PERP.

Comme pour le PERP, l’épargne investie donne lieu, au versement d’une rente à partir de l’âge de la retraite, sauf dans des cas exceptionnels.

 

Le Plan d’épargne pour la retraite collectif (PERCO)

Il constitue une épargne collective dans le cadre de l’entreprise. Elle est obligatoire dès lors qu’un accord a été signé. A la différence du PERE, les versements des salariés sont libres. Comme pour le PERE, ils sont abondés par l’entreprise et les fonds sont placés dans le cadre d’une gestion mutualisée, assurée généralement par des banques, des sociétés d’assurance ou des organismes relevant des groupes de protection sociale.

Des incitations fiscales existent pour l’entreprise comme pour le salarié. La sortie peut se faire en rente viagère ou en capital, ce qui rapproche le PERCO d’un placement classique  plutôt que d’une épargne retraite. Pour les petites entreprises qui ne peuvent mettre en place leur propre PERCO, il existe des PERCO interentreprises créés par des accords de branche permettant d’en mutualiser la gestion et les risques.

Pour en savoir plus sur le PERCO, consultez le site service-public.fr

 

Les contrats « loi Madelin » sont destinés à tous les professionnels indépendants et libéraux : les gérants majoritaires, les commerçants et artisans, les professions libérales et les conjoints collaborateurs.

Le souscripteur doit être à jour de ses cotisations aux régimes obligatoires d’assurance maladie et de retraite. Déductibles des revenus professionnels, les cotisations sont libres, mais doivent s’inscrire dans une fourchette.

Le contrat peut être interrompu en cas de cessation d’activité suite à une liquidation judiciaire ou en cas d’invalidité.

Après cessation de l’activité professionnelle, la sortie se fait obligatoirement sous forme de rente, sauf pour les bénéficiaires d’une pension d’invalidité.

 

Le régime Préfon est réservé aux fonctionnaires, à leurs conjoints, ainsi qu’à tous ceux ayant appartenu à la fonction publique au cours de leur carrière.

Il est soumis à la même fiscalité que le PERP.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site web de Préfon-retraite

 

Pour accéder en toute sécurité à une information personnalisée selon vos régimes de retraite,

connectez-vous à votre compte retraite.

Sur votre compte retraite, vous pouvez :

  • accéder directement à l'information qui vous concerne
  • consulter les droits que vous avez acquis pour la retraite ou les dates de paiement de votre retraite
  • simuler votre âge de départ ou le montant de votre retraite

Ces articles peuvent vous intéresser

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour vous proposer des contenus adaptés à votre profil.  En savoir plus